Will cybertruck weight mean it qualifies for sec.179 tax deduction?

Odiggity

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
T
Country flag
Vehicles over 6000lbs can write off up to $25k purchase price. Does that mean if you use cybertruck for biz you can write it off without depreciated it‽
Sponsored

DarinCT

First Name
Darin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
M3, CT triM
Country flag
Vehicles over 6000lbs can write off up to $25k purchase price. Does that mean if you use cybertruck for biz you can write it off without depreciated it‽
I am not a tax professional and this should not be considered advice.

There are, as I understand it, three means by which you can deduct your vehicle and one other issue. Standard depreciations, bonus depreciation, and section 179 are methods that you could use to depreciate the vehicle. Let me address the other issue quickly. As far as I understand it, If you own the vehicle and use it for business, you cannot both take mileage deduction and vehicle cost deduction. ( https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-issues-standard-mileage-rates-for-2021 ).

While everyone touts 179, I'm under the impression that the current tax law using the bonus depreciation method allows you to deduct the entire value of the car in the first year, assuming you qualify of course. ( https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-finalizes-regulations-for-100-percent-bonus-depreciation ).

Three important things. First, I believe this means that the value of your vehicle at the end of the first year, the same year it was put in service, is zero as far as taxes go. If your CT got totaled or you sold it in any subsequent year, if I understand correctly, that would be considered taxable income. Second, I'm under the impression, that if you don't capture that loss through some tax magic, it's gone forever.

Third, and most importantly, I am not a tax professional and this is not advice.