Tesla Wall Connector (Gen 4) for Cybertruck

HaulingAss

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2010 F-150, 2018 Model 3 P, FS DM Cybertruck
Country flag
got me thinking.

Given its specs, the CT should be the goto truck for all RV owners who are pulling 3+ ton Rv's.

I'm not an expert, but came across a vid a few months back, and the basic premise was trucks are advertised at towing say 3.5 tons, but in reality, they fail other metrics such as GVM.. gross vehicle mass. Insurance will not cover.

like the old motto ' nobody ever got fired for buying IBM', buying a CT will keep you legal.
Sure, if you only tow your RV shorter distances to get to a favorite campsite or whatever the particular use case is that doesn't require extensive Interstate travel. Cybertruck can do Interstate travel with big trailers but it would come at the expense of extensive stopping at chargers. That will be acceptable to people who are not willing to give up this kind of activity but would like to do it in a less environmentally way and don't mind the extra incovenience. Most RV people wouldn't do it. At current gas/Supercharging rates the $$ savings would still be there but it wouldn't be as dramatic as the savings every EV owner who charges at home sees.

Your point is valid, but people can buy whatever truck has suitable tow ratings (once all the details are taken into account). The class of 1/2 ton pickups are generally only used to tow smaller/lighter RV's and people step up to much more expensive trucks to tow larger RV's. A Cybertruck could replace many of the heavier duty options in the ICE market in terms of safe towing, but not in terms of fuelling convenience. It's hard to beat a 1 ton ICE truck with 40-80 gallons onboard for towing a big heavy RV. I can hear the sucking sound now!
Sponsored

Ogre

First Name
Dennis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Model Y
Country flag