TBONO

First Name
Tone
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
M3
Country flag
I’m curious what the latest thoughts/intel is on quad replacing trimotor?
Sponsored

Crissa

First Name
Crissa
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2014 Zero S, 2013 Mazda 3
Country flag
Since Tesla uses a blended motor output, it's not likely any time soon. There's not much advantage to putting the Plaid rear motor in the front.

Rivian uses one motor per wheel, so there's independent positive traction control.

-Crissa

See? I have been answering questions almost every day for 16 months and that adds up to a post count.

anionic1

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Cybertruck
Occupation
Estimator
Country flag
Since Tesla uses a blended motor output, it's not likely any time soon. There's not much advantage to putting the Plaid rear motor in the front.

Rivian uses one motor per wheel, so there's independent positive traction control.

-Crissa

See? I have been answering questions almost every day for 16 months and that adds up to a post count.
I kind of think the CT is going to chew through tires. I would almost prefer more power to the rear wheels since those fronts will probably wear faster and I hate rotating tires.

Dusty

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Model Y Performance
Occupation
Creator
Country flag
I kind of think the CT is going to chew through tires. I would almost prefer more power to the rear wheels since those fronts will probably wear faster and I hate rotating tires.
The tires you always see the CT on last for at least 60k miles. And, large tires HAVE to be rotated every 5k or they'll cup and go out of round causing a terrible ride. More power to the rear makes you plow which is terrible for tire wear.

Sorry. No way around tire rotation with large all-terrain/ off-road tires. But if you care for them they'll last a very long time.

rr6013

First Name
Rex
Threads
Reaction score
Website
shorttakes.substack.com
Vehicles
1997 Tahoe 2 door 4x4